This section is from "The American Cyclopaedia", by George Ripley And Charles A. Dana. Also available from Amazon: The New American Cyclopędia. 16 volumes complete..
Thomas Howard Arundel, earl of Arundel and Surrey, an English patron of art, born July 7, 1592, died in Padua, Oct. 4, 1646. Under Elizabeth he enjoyed by courtesy the title of Lord Maltravers. The titles forfeited by the attainder of his father were restored in 1603 he was created earl marshal in 1621, and earl of Norfolk in 1644. He served as privy councillor, lord high steward at the trial of Lord Strafford, envoy to the queen of Bohemia and the states general of the Netherlands, and ambassador extraordinary to the emperor Ferdinand II. He is best remembered by his gallery of statuary, which • he commenced during his residence in Italy (1607-14), and for the collection of which ho sent John Evelyn to Rome, and Mr. (afterward Sir) William Petty to Greece and Asia Minor. The English ambassadors at the Hague, Turin, Brussels, and Madrid also aided in its formation. Petty acquired valuable works at Paros, Delos, and Smyrna, particularly the celebrated Parian Chronicle, a long, oblong slab of marble, with important chronological records.
The Arun-delian collection, when entire, comprised 37 statues, 128 busts, and 250 marbles with inscriptions, exclusive of sarcophagi, altars, and fragments; it included also gems, medals, and other intaglios which Lord Arundel had purchased at Venice from Daniel Nys for £10,000. During the civil war (1642), when he returned to Italy, part of the collection, chiefly the gems, were believed to have been removed by him; while of those confiscated by parliament, a number were said to have been secured by the Spanish ambassador in London, through the medium of Cromwell, for removal to Spain. - On Lord Arundel's death his personal estate was divided between his eldest son Henry and his second son Sir William, the celebrated Viscount Stafford, who was executed in 1680. His grandson Henry, 6th duke of Norfolk, in 1667 presented the inscribed marbles forming a part of his moiety to the university of Oxford, at the instance of Evelyn and Selden. The statues, chiefly the busts, were in 1755 presented to the university of Oxford by the countess dowager of Pomfret, into whose possession they had passed. Other works of the Arundel collection were scattered; some went to Chis-wick House, others to Beaconsfield, to Fawley Court, to the Norfolk seat at Worksop Manor, etc.
The divorced duchess of Norfolk, by whom the busts and statues were sold, was also the owner of the cameos and intaglios, which finally passed to the duke of Marlborough and are known as the Marlborough gems. Lord Arundel's favorite bronze head of Homer, which is introduced into his portrait by Vandyke, was purchased by Lord Exeter and presented by him to the British museum. The greater part of the Greek inscriptions in the Arundel collection at Oxford were, according to Gassendi, discovered by Peiresc at Smyrna previous to their having been secured by Petty. They were increased by Selden's private collection and other contributions to 150 inscribed marbles of various descriptions. It is proposed to remove both the Arundel and Pomfret marbles from the rooms beneath the Bodleian library, where they now are (1873), to the new Oxford museum. The Parian Chronicle was executed at Paros about 263 B. C, and contains chronological records from 1582 to 264 B. C. Celebrated among Lady Pomfret's contributions to the collection are a colossal torso of a Minerva, and several statues of Roman senators, including one supposed to represent Cicero. At the suggestion of Sir Richard Cotton, and in concert with two eminent scholars, Selden published Marmora Arundeliana (1628). An edition by Prideaux of the whole set of inscriptions, issued in 1676 under the title of Marmora Oxoniensia, ex Arundelianis, Seldenianis, etc, was republished with additional comments by Mattaire in 1732. In 1763 a new and splendid edition was published under the auspices of Dr. Chandler of Magdalen college, including ancient inscriptions collected by various learned travellers and engravings of 167 marbles, 103 of which belonged to the Pomfret donation.
Among the other valued authorities on the subject is Bockh's Corpus Inscriptionum Graecarum. - The Arundel society in London, for the multiplication of fine chromotint copies of remarkable monuments of the old masters, was founded in 1849, and has given a wide and cheap circulation to works of art which had been previously accessible only to the rich.
 
Continue to: